EDGEWORTH BOROUGH COUNCIL ORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 21, 2014

MEETING was called to order at 7:30 p.m. with Mayor Murphy presiding and the following members of Council and officials of the Borough present: Mr. Joseph T. Hoepp, Mr. David T. Aloe, Mrs. Carrie A. Duffield, Mr. Ivan T. Hofmann, Mr. Gregory J. Marlovits, Dr. Gary L. Smith, Mr. Daniel S. Wilson, Mayor Wayne T. Murphy, Borough Manager Martin C. McDaniel, Borough Secretary/Treasurer Margie L. Nelko, and Mr. Brock E. McCandless, Esq., representing the Borough Solicitor.

OATHS OF OFFICE were taken at 7:32 p.m. by the following:

Members of Council – Mrs. Carrie A. Duffield, Mr. Joseph T. Hoepp, Mr. Ivan T. Hofmann, Mr. Daniel S. Wilson

Real Estate Tax Collector – Mr. Robert W. Gray

ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT: Mayor Murphy announced that nominations were in order for the office of President of Council for year 2014. Mrs. Duffield nominated Joseph T. Hoepp and Mr. Aloe seconded the nomination. The motion of Mrs. Duffield, seconded by Mr. Aloe that the nominations be closed, was unanimously carried. With all members of Council voting (except Mr. Hoepp), Joseph T. Hoepp was unanimously elected President of Council for the year 2014. Mr. Joseph T. Hoepp thanked Council for their vote of confidence.

ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT: Mr. Joseph T. Hoepp asked for nominations for the office of Vice-President of Council for year 2014. Mr. Wilson nominated Dr. Gary L. Smith and Mr. Hoepp seconded the nomination. The motion of Mr. Wilson, seconded by Mr. Hoepp that the nominations be closed, was unanimously carried. With all members of Council voting (except Dr. Smith), Dr. Gary L. Smith was unanimously elected Vice-President of Council for the year 2014.

<u>APPOINTMENTS:</u> The motion of Mr. Hofmann, seconded by Mr. Wilson, to make the following appointments for the year 2014, was unanimously carried.

Borough Secretary - Margie L. Nelko

Assistant Secretary - Martin C. McDaniel

Treasurer – Margie L. Nelko

Borough Manager – Martin C. McDaniel

Solicitor – Philip J. Weis

Engineer – Lennon, Smith, Souleret Engineering

Zoning Officer - Martin C. McDaniel

Building and Plumbing Official – Frederick R. Gregorich

Sewage Enforcement Officer - Lennon, Smith, Souleret Engineering

Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officer - Allegheny County Health Department

3rd Party Code Official - Code.sys, MDIA, Steel City Inspection Agency

Emergency Management Coordinator - Martin C. McDaniel

Earned Income Tax Collector – Keystone Collections Group

Local Service Tax Collector – Keystone Collections Group
Business Privilege Tax Collector – Keystone Collections Group
Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector – Jordan Tax Service
Quaker Valley COG Delegate – Joseph T. Hoepp
Quaker Valley COG Alternate Delegate – Martin C. McDaniel
Allegheny County Boroughs Association Delegate – Martin C. McDaniel
Allegheny County Boroughs Association Alternate Delegate – Joseph T. Hoepp
Official Newspaper – Sewickley Herald Star (alternate: Allegheny County Times)
Right to Know Officer – Martin C. McDaniel

<u>2014 BOROUGH COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS</u> were made by Mr. Joseph T. Hoepp, as follows:

FINANCE, BUDGET, PENSION AND PERSONNEL

Daniel S. Wilson, Chairman Carrie A. Duffield Ivan T. Hofmann

FIRE

Carrie A. Duffield, Chairperson Daniel S. Wilson Gary L. Smith

<u>HEALTH, SANITATION, SEWERS, STREAM</u> <u>PURIFICATION AND GARBAGE</u>

Gregory J. Marlovits, Chairman David T. Aloe Daniel S. Wilson

POLICE, TRAFFIC REGULATIONS AND CIVIL DEFENSE

David T. Aloe, Chairman Ivan T. Hofmann Gregory J. Marlovits

PROPERTY, PLANNING, SUBDIVISION, ZONING AND PARKS

Ivan T. Hofmann, Chairman Carrie A. Duffield Gary L. Smith

STREETS, LIGHT AND WATER

Gary L. Smith, Chairman David T. Aloe Gregory J. Marlovits Note: The President of Council and the Borough Manager are Ex-Officio Members of all Committees.

There being no further business, the meeting on motion duly made and seconded was adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

Margie L. Nelko Borough Secretary